PetSafe

ScoopFree OpenSky

open-top rake/sift, litter redistributed

$400–600 60% documented 5/6 litter types stated

The short version

PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky uses an open-top rake/sift, litter redistributed mechanism. The manufacturer states it takes clumping clay litter and excludes tofu, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet. It is stated for cats up to 33 lb by the manufacturer. 2 of the 6 questions buyers most often ask are not answered anywhere in the manufacturer's own material.

PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky — AI-assisted editorial representation, not a photograph
AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.
From documented evidence only

Who this appears to fit

Good fit if…

  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 33 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Your cat avoids enclosed boxes — this is an open-top design
  • You want to try it before committing — the manufacturer documents a 45-day trial

Not a documented fit if…

  • You use tofu, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it
  • Your cat is over 33 lb — the manufacturer states that as the maximum

Each line above is derived from a value the manufacturer published; the source is shown against that value in the evidence table below. PURRINDEX draws no conclusion from a field a manufacturer left blank.

What sets this one apart

Key documented differences

  • Needs a 20 × 18.8 in floor area (376 sq in)
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (waste bin liners (model-specific SKU))
  • Documented 8.5 L waste capacity
  • App-connected: PetSafe app; real-time tracking, weight trends
  • Documented 12-month warranty
What the manufacturer states

Litter compatibility

Litter typeWhat the manufacturer states
Clumping clayYesSupported
TofuNot rec.Not recommended by manufacturer
MixedManufacturer does not state
CrystalNoNot supported
Pine pelletNot rec.Not recommended by manufacturer
Other pelletNot rec.Not recommended by manufacturer
MANUAL (outranks the product page's 'most clumping litter types'): 'Litter with larger pellets, such as pine or tofu litter, may not be compatible with the litter box.'
Manual https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/eb94df77ef65dca47b79dec2111de7c5
Stated by the manufacturer

Important restrictions

  • Kittens: 'Leave the litter box unplugged and scoop waste manually (or turn off the Auto Clean feature in the app) until your kitten is at least 3 pounds (1.5 kg) and 6 months old.'
  • 'Make sure the litter box is at least 2 inches (5 cm) away from any walls or other objects.'
Original PURRINDEX drawings

Dimensions & footprint

FRONTSIDE24.0″20.0″18.8″12″
20.0″ wide18.8″ deepgrid = 12″ · footprint 376 sq in

Drawn to scale by PURRINDEX from the published dimensions below. An original drawing, not a product likeness and not manufacturer artwork.

Factual list, not a score

Documented mechanisms

  • weight sensor (cat presence)
  • cat-entry detection at a weight change greater than 3 lb (1.5 kg)
  • cleaning cycle starts only after the cat leaves

These are the mechanisms the manufacturer documents. PURRINDEX does not rank or score safety, and the number of listed mechanisms is not a measure of anything. Manual

Known unknowns

What the manufacturer does not state

  • The manufacturer does not publish an entry height
  • The manufacturer does not publish interior dimensions

Absence of documentation is not evidence of a shortcoming in the product. It is a statement about what you can and cannot find out before buying.

Same decision

Compare with the closest alternatives

Chosen by documented similarity — price band, form factor and the litter types each manufacturer states. Never by what a merchant pays.

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

PETLIBRO

Luma

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay, tofu and mixed litter — the manufacturer states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 22 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Your cat avoids enclosed boxes — this is an open-top design

You use crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

Open top70% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

Neakasa

M1 Plus

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 33 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Your cat avoids enclosed boxes — this is an open-top design

You use crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

Open top53% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

PETKIT

Purobot Max 3 (P9906)

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay, tofu and mixed litter — the manufacturer states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 22 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 8.03 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use crystal litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

57% documented
View product
Commercial layer

Buying options

Buying options

PURRINDEX chooses the product first. Where you buy it is resolved afterwards and never affects what this site recommends — how that is enforced.

  • PetSafe directPepperjam / Ascend · not appliedCheck availability
  • AmazonAmazon Associates · not appliedCheck availability

PURRINDEX has not joined an affiliate programme yet, so these destinations carry no outbound link rather than a placeholder one. No live prices and no retailer ratings are shown anywhere on this site.

Every value carries its source

Full evidence

Manufacturer list price
$549.99
Manufacturer
Evidence for list price
Value
549.99
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01

Physical

Exterior height
24.0 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for exterior height
Value
24.0
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Exterior width
20.0 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for exterior width
Value
20.0
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Exterior depth
18.8 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for exterior depth
Value
18.8
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Unit weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Clearance requirement
MANUAL: 'Make sure the litter box is at least 2 inches (5 cm) away from any walls or other objects.'
Manual
Evidence for clearance requirement
Value
MANUAL: 'Make sure the litter box is at least 2 inches (5 cm) away from any walls or other objects.'
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/eb94df77ef65dca47b79dec2111de7c5ef8c7644.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01

Entry & interior

Entry opening
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Entry height from floor
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Interior dimensions
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Litter bed
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Stated cat limits

Minimum cat weight
3.0 lb
Manual
Evidence for minimum cat weight
Value
3.0
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/eb94df77ef65dca47b79dec2111de7c5ef8c7644.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Note
derived from the manual's kitten instruction
Maximum cat weight
33 lb
Manufacturer
Evidence for maximum cat weight
Value
33
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated maximum cats
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Kitten restriction
MANUAL: 'Leave the litter box unplugged and scoop waste manually (or turn off the Auto Clean feature in the app) until your kitten is at least 3 pounds (1.5 kg) and 6 months old.'
Manual
Evidence for kitten restriction
Value
MANUAL: 'Leave the litter box unplugged and scoop waste manually (or turn off the Auto Clean feature in the app) until your kitten is at least 3 pounds (1.5 kg) and 6 months old.'
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/eb94df77ef65dca47b79dec2111de7c5ef8c7644.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01

Waste handling

Waste capacity
8.5 L
Manufacturer
Evidence for waste capacity
Value
8.5
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated waste interval
up to 2 weeks, 1 cat
Manufacturer
Evidence for stated waste interval
Value
up to 2 weeks, 1 cat
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Waste drawer
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle delay
1-60 min countdown, app-configurable
Manufacturer
Evidence for cycle delay
Value
1-60 min countdown, app-configurable
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01

Automation & connectivity

Cleaning mechanism
open-top rake/sift, litter redistributed
Manufacturer
Evidence for cleaning mechanism
Value
open-top rake/sift, litter redistributed
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Power
plug-in adaptor included
Manufacturer
Evidence for power
Value
plug-in adaptor included
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Wi-Fi
2.4 GHz
Manufacturer
Evidence for wi-fi
Value
2.4 GHz
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
App
PetSafe app; real-time tracking, weight trends
Manufacturer
Evidence for app
Value
PetSafe app; real-time tracking, weight trends
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Weight tracking
Yes
Manufacturer
Evidence for weight tracking
Value
True
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Cat identification
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Notifications
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Camera field of view
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle interruption
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Ownership

Proprietary consumables
waste bin liners (model-specific SKU)
Manufacturer
Evidence for proprietary consumables
Value
['waste bin liners (model-specific SKU)']
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Subscription-gated features
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Warranty
12 months
Manual
Evidence for warranty
Value
12
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/eb94df77ef65dca47b79dec2111de7c5ef8c7644.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Note
manual states '1-Year Limited Warranty'; model ZAL00-18120, Radio Systems Corporation
Trial period
45 days
Manufacturer
Evidence for trial period
Value
45
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-opensky-self-cleaning-litter-box/ZAL00-18120/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01