Amazon Basics

Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (SMARTO M500)

S-shaped screen sifting

$150–250 23% documented 0/6 litter types stated

The short version

Amazon Basics Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (SMARTO M500) uses a s-shaped screen sifting mechanism. The manufacturer publishes no litter guidance for it. It is stated for cats up to 22 lb by the retail listing. 3 of the 6 questions buyers most often ask are not answered anywhere in the manufacturer's own material.

PHYSICAL0/5ENTRY & INTERIOR1/4STATED CAT LIMIT2/4WASTE HANDLING0/4AUTOMATION & CON2/9OWNERSHIP2/4no exterior dimensions published · documentation map
From documented evidence only

Who this appears to fit

Good fit if…

  • Your heaviest cat is under 22 lb — the stated maximum according to the retail listing

Not a documented fit if…

  • Your cat is over 22 lb — the retail listing states that as the maximum

Each line above is derived from a value the manufacturer published; the source is shown against that value in the evidence table below. PURRINDEX draws no conclusion from a field a manufacturer left blank.

What sets this one apart

Key documented differences

  • Uses brand-specific consumables (liners, deodorizer, air purifying liquid)
  • Documented 12-month warranty
What the manufacturer states

Litter compatibility

Litter typeWhat the manufacturer states
Clumping clayManufacturer does not state
TofuManufacturer does not state
MixedManufacturer does not state
CrystalManufacturer does not state
Pine pelletManufacturer does not state
Other pelletManufacturer does not state
No manufacturer specification page exists for this product; no litter compatibility statement located.
Retailer-declared amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN
Original PURRINDEX drawings

Dimensions & footprint

PHYSICAL0/5ENTRY & INTERIOR1/4STATED CAT LIMIT2/4WASTE HANDLING0/4AUTOMATION & CON2/9OWNERSHIP2/4no exterior dimensions published · documentation map

No exterior dimensions are published for this product, so PURRINDEX draws its documentation instead: each dot is a tracked field, filled where a value is stated.

Factual list, not a score

Documented mechanisms

  • safety sensors (type and count not specified)

These are the mechanisms the manufacturer documents. PURRINDEX does not rank or score safety, and the number of listed mechanisms is not a measure of anything. Retailer-declared

Known unknowns

What the manufacturer does not state

  • The manufacturer does not publish an entry height
  • The manufacturer does not publish a waste capacity
  • The manufacturer does not publish a kitten restriction

Absence of documentation is not evidence of a shortcoming in the product. It is a statement about what you can and cannot find out before buying.

Same decision

Compare with the closest alternatives

Chosen by documented similarity — price band, form factor and the litter types each manufacturer states. Never by what a merchant pays.

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

PetSafe

ScoopFree Crystal Pro

$150–250
  • You use crystal litter — the retail listing states this is supported
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (ScoopFree crystal litter trays (disposable or reusable))
  • Needs a 20 × 29 in floor area (580 sq in)

You use clumping clay, tofu, mixed, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

37% documented
View product
Commercial layer

Buying options

Buying options

PURRINDEX chooses the product first. Where you buy it is resolved afterwards and never affects what this site recommends — how that is enforced.

  • AmazonAmazon Associates · not appliedCheck availability

PURRINDEX has not joined an affiliate programme yet, so these destinations carry no outbound link rather than a placeholder one. No live prices and no retailer ratings are shown anywhere on this site.

Every value carries its source

Full evidence

Price band
$150–250
Band only
Why a band and not a price
The observed price came from a retail listing rather than the manufacturer. PURRINDEX shows a band in that case: retailer prices change constantly and we do not display live retail pricing or marketplace data.

Physical

Exterior height
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Exterior width
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Exterior depth
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Unit weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Clearance requirement
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Entry & interior

Entry opening
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Entry height from floor
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Interior dimensions
15.8 gallon (~59.8 L) stated in title
Retailer-declared
Evidence for interior dimensions
Value
15.8 gallon (~59.8 L) stated in title
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Litter bed
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Stated cat limits

Minimum cat weight
3.3 lb
Retailer-declared
Evidence for minimum cat weight
Value
3.3
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Maximum cat weight
22 lb
Retailer-declared
Evidence for maximum cat weight
Value
22
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated maximum cats
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Kitten restriction
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Waste handling

Waste capacity
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Stated waste interval
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Waste drawer
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle delay
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Automation & connectivity

Cleaning mechanism
S-shaped screen sifting
Retailer-declared
Evidence for cleaning mechanism
Value
S-shaped screen sifting
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Power
power adapter included
Retailer-declared
Evidence for power
Value
power adapter included
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Wi-Fi
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
App
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Weight tracking
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cat identification
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Notifications
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Camera field of view
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle interruption
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Ownership

Proprietary consumables
liners, deodorizer, air purifying liquid
Retailer-declared
Evidence for proprietary consumables
Value
['liners', 'deodorizer', 'air purifying liquid']
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Subscription-gated features
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Warranty
12 months
Retailer-declared
Evidence for warranty
Value
12
Source
amazon.com detail-page structured attributes, ASIN · listing identifier held in the research record, not published
Source type
Retailer-declared attribute (R1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Trial period
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated