PetSafe

ScoopFree Crystal Classic

motorised rake; crystal tray

Under $150 17% documented 6/6 litter types stated

The short version

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic uses a motorised rake; crystal tray mechanism. The manufacturer states it takes crystal litter and excludes clumping clay, tofu, mixed, pine pellet and other pellet. 5 of the 6 questions buyers most often ask are not answered anywhere in the manufacturer's own material.

PHYSICAL0/5ENTRY & INTERIOR0/4STATED CAT LIMIT0/4WASTE HANDLING0/4AUTOMATION & CON4/9OWNERSHIP1/4no exterior dimensions published · documentation map
From documented evidence only

Who this appears to fit

Good fit if…

  • You use crystal litter — the retail listing states this is supported

Not a documented fit if…

  • You use clumping clay, tofu, mixed, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

Each line above is derived from a value the manufacturer published; the source is shown against that value in the evidence table below. PURRINDEX draws no conclusion from a field a manufacturer left blank.

What sets this one apart

Key documented differences

  • Uses brand-specific consumables (ScoopFree crystal litter trays)
  • App-connected: False
What the manufacturer states

Litter compatibility

Litter typeWhat the manufacturer states
Clumping clayNoNot supported
TofuNoNot supported
MixedNoNot supported
CrystalYesSupported
Pine pelletNoNot supported
Other pelletNoNot supported
Same ScoopFree crystal-tray architecture as Crystal Pro.
Retailer-declared petsafe.com product line
Original PURRINDEX drawings

Dimensions & footprint

PHYSICAL0/5ENTRY & INTERIOR0/4STATED CAT LIMIT0/4WASTE HANDLING0/4AUTOMATION & CON4/9OWNERSHIP1/4no exterior dimensions published · documentation map

No exterior dimensions are published for this product, so PURRINDEX draws its documentation instead: each dot is a tracked field, filled where a value is stated.

Factual list, not a score

Documented mechanisms

This manufacturer does not document any sensing or cycle-interruption mechanism for this product.

Known unknowns

What the manufacturer does not state

  • The manufacturer does not publish a maximum cat weight
  • The manufacturer does not publish an entry height
  • The manufacturer does not publish interior dimensions
  • The manufacturer does not publish a waste capacity
  • The manufacturer does not publish a kitten restriction

Absence of documentation is not evidence of a shortcoming in the product. It is a statement about what you can and cannot find out before buying.

Same decision

Compare with the closest alternatives

Chosen by documented similarity — price band, form factor and the litter types each manufacturer states. Never by what a merchant pays.

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

PetSafe

ScoopFree Crystal Pro

$150–250
  • You use crystal litter — the retail listing states this is supported
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (ScoopFree crystal litter trays (disposable or reusable))
  • Needs a 20 × 29 in floor area (580 sq in)

You use clumping clay, tofu, mixed, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

37% documented
View product
CatGenie

CatGenie A.I.

$400–600
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (Washable Granules, SaniSolution cartridge (120 cycles standard mode, 240 in cat-activation mode))
  • Needs a 19.25 × 24.5 in floor area (472 sq in)

You use clumping clay, tofu, mixed, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

47% documented
View product
Casa Leo

Leo's Loo Too

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 20 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Documented 9.5 L waste capacity

You use tofu, mixed, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

30% documented
View product
Commercial layer

Buying options

Buying options

PURRINDEX chooses the product first. Where you buy it is resolved afterwards and never affects what this site recommends — how that is enforced.

  • PetSafe directPepperjam / Ascend · not appliedCheck availability
  • AmazonAmazon Associates · not appliedCheck availability

PURRINDEX has not joined an affiliate programme yet, so these destinations carry no outbound link rather than a placeholder one. No live prices and no retailer ratings are shown anywhere on this site.

Every value carries its source

Full evidence

Price band
Under $150
Band only
Why a band and not a price
The observed price came from a retail listing rather than the manufacturer. PURRINDEX shows a band in that case: retailer prices change constantly and we do not display live retail pricing or marketplace data.

Physical

Exterior height
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Exterior width
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Exterior depth
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Unit weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Clearance requirement
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Entry & interior

Entry opening
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Entry height from floor
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Interior dimensions
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Litter bed
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Stated cat limits

Minimum cat weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Maximum cat weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Stated maximum cats
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Kitten restriction
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Waste handling

Waste capacity
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Stated waste interval
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Waste drawer
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle delay
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Automation & connectivity

Cleaning mechanism
motorised rake; crystal tray
Retailer-declared
Evidence for cleaning mechanism
Value
motorised rake; crystal tray
Source
petsafe.com product line
Source type
Site probe / brand-site check (S)
Captured
2026-09-01
Power
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Wi-Fi
No
Retailer-declared
Evidence for wi-fi
Value
False
Source
petsafe.com
Source type
Site probe / brand-site check (S)
Captured
2026-09-01
App
No
Retailer-declared
Evidence for app
Value
False
Source
petsafe.com
Source type
Site probe / brand-site check (S)
Captured
2026-09-01
Weight tracking
No
Retailer-declared
Evidence for weight tracking
Value
False
Source
petsafe.com
Source type
Site probe / brand-site check (S)
Captured
2026-09-01
Cat identification
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Notifications
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Camera field of view
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle interruption
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Ownership

Proprietary consumables
ScoopFree crystal litter trays
Retailer-declared
Evidence for proprietary consumables
Value
['ScoopFree crystal litter trays']
Source
petsafe.com
Source type
Site probe / brand-site check (S)
Captured
2026-09-01
Subscription-gated features
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Warranty
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Trial period
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated